對於門徒牧師

完整的移民法律代表

我們為在非移民宗教工作者案件(R-1簽證)和特殊移民宗教工作者案件(宗教工作者的綠卡)中為牧師上訪的牧師地區和教會提供全面代表。在能力允許的情況下,將視具體情況考慮其他案件類型的協助。


在多個部門的支持下,這些法律服務不收取律師費,其中包括門徒傳教基金會,同情周等。


牧師和神學院的學生,請直接與門徒移民法律顧問聯繫,以討論您的情況。

Image by Matthew Ball

R-1簽證

非移民簽證

R-1簽證是臨時簽證,稱為非移民簽證。它允許宗教工作者在美國居住和工作長達30個月,並且可以續簽長達5年。 R-1簽證持有人僅可為為其提出請願的雇主(教堂或地區)工作。她的配偶和未成年子女可以作為家屬獲得R-2簽證。具有R-2身份的受撫養者可能居住在美國,但不允許其工作。


一個地區或教堂向美國公民及移民服務局(USCIS)提交請願書和支持性證據。宗教工作者不能為自己提出請願。如果申請獲得批准,則宗教工作者可以根據R-1簽證或更改為R-1身份來申請進入美國,具體取決於她是在國外還是已經在美國合法居住。


要獲得R-1資格,宗教工作者必須:

  • 在過去至少兩年內,一直是基督教會(基督的門徒)或其在國外的分支機構的成員,

  • 有在美國的工作機會,每周至少做20個小時有償的“宗教工作”,

  • 得到地區辦事處和教會的支持

  • 被美國“允許”(這取決於個人的移民和犯罪記錄,如果有的話),以及

  • 打算在狀態過期時離開美國

  • 滿足其他要求

特殊移民宗教工作者

移民簽證

特殊移民宗教工作者類別導致永久移民身份。它允許宗教工作者申請合法永久居留權,即綠卡。作為合法永久居民,宗教工作者可以無限期居住在美國並為任何雇主工作。他的配偶和未成年子女有資格成為他的家屬,也可以獲得綠卡。


一個地區或教堂向宗教工作者提出請願書。在某些情況下,宗教工作者可以代為提交請願書。如果請願書獲得批准,則宗教工作者可以申請合法永久居留權。如果宗教工作者在國外,他將向美國領事館提出申請。如果他已經合法在美國,那麼他將通過一個稱為“身份調整”的程序來申請。


要符合特殊移民宗教工作者類別的資格,宗教工作者必須:

  • 在過去至少兩年內,一直是基督教會(基督的門徒)或其在國外的分支機構的成員,

  • 至少在過去兩年中一直全職從事有償的“宗教工作”,

  • 有在美國的工作機會,每周至少進行35個小時的有償宗教工作,

  • 得到區域辦事處和教堂的支持,並且

  • 被美國“接納”(這取決於個人的移民和犯罪記錄,如果有的話。)

  • 滿足其他要求

警告:

申請任何類型的移民福利,特別是針對宗教工作者,是一個複雜且耗時的過程。近年來,美國國土安全部一直特別不願發放此類簽證。現在,所有案件都受到嚴格的審查,包括欺詐發現和國家安全部門的實地訪問,該訪問可以在案件的整個使用期限內隨時進行。請與門徒移民法律顧問聯繫以進行諮詢,以確定您是否符合條件並為此做準備。

要求諮詢

請允許一個工作日內答复

請注意,徒弟移民法律顧問只是一名律師,因此感謝您的耐心和理解。此鏈接用於保密的問卷,可用於查找與您交談的最佳時間和方式。請允許至少一個工作日來回复。諮詢中共享的所有信息都是並將繼續保密。最後,感謝您分享您的門徒隸屬關係,有資格使用此服務。

牧師資源

RIM.jpg

難民與移民部

除了有力的倡導倡議之外,門徒難民和移民部還提供針對移民的敬拜和聖經資料。此外,還有由前門徒移民響應專家瓦萊里亞·比哈爾(Valeria Bejar)在2020年組織和領導的前移民領導的在線每周聖經研究的驚人收藏。

IIC.jpg

信仰間移民聯盟

信仰間移民聯盟(IIC)是一個基於信仰的組織的合作夥伴關係,致力於實施公平和人道的移民改革,這反映了我們的使命,即歡迎陌生人並以有尊嚴和尊重的態度對待所有人。聯盟成員共同努力,倡導公正和公平的移民政策,教育信仰社區,並為全國各地的移民人口服務。

chalice informal.jpg

門徒夥伴

``我們感謝支持我們工作的許多合作夥伴,其中包括:

labyrinth.jpg

飽食精神

飽食的精神包括來自基督教傳統和我們更廣泛的精神社區的神職人員和外行人的靈性形成和健康資源。它隸屬於基督教教會基督教職業辦公室(Disciples of Christ) ,是基督教徒家庭傳教部的一個部門。

對於特定於移民經驗的心理健康資源:

For Disciples Pastors

Full Immigration Legal Representation

We provide full representation to Disciples regions and churches petitioning for pastors in nonimmigrant religious worker cases (R-1 visas) and special immigrant religious worker cases (green cards for religious workers).  Assistance in other case types is considered on a case-by-case basis as capacity allows.


There are no attorneys’ fees charged for these legal services thanks to the support of multiple ministries, including the Disciples Missions Fund, Week of Compassion, among many others.


Pastors and seminarians, please contact Disciples Immigration Legal Counsel directly to discuss your situation.

Image by Matthew Ball

R-1 Visas

Nonimmigrant Visas

The R-1 visa is a temporary visa, called a nonimmigrant visa. It allows a religious worker to live and work in the U.S. for up to thirty months and is renewable for up to five years. The R-1 visa holder is allowed to work only for the employer (a church or region) that petitioned for her. Her spouse and minor children may qualify for R-2 visas as her dependents. Dependents with R-2 status may live in the U.S., but they are not allowed to work.


A region or church files a petition and supporting evidence with U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services (USCIS). The religious worker cannot file the petition for herself. If the petition is approved, the religious worker may then apply to enter the U.S. on an R-1 visa or change to R-1 status, depending on whether she is abroad or already lawfully in the U.S.


To be eligible for R-1 status, a religious worker must:

  • have been a member of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) or its affiliates abroad for at least the past 2 years,

  • have a job offer in the U.S. to do compensated “religious work” for at least 20 hours per week,

  • have the support of the regional office and the church

  • be “admissible” to the U.S. (This depends on the individual’s immigration and criminal history, if any.), and

  • intend to leave the U.S. when the status expires

  • meet other requirements

Special Immigrant Religious Worker

Immigrant Visa

The Special Immigrant Religious Worker category leads to a permanent immigration status. It allows a religious worker to apply for Lawful Permanent Residence, known as a green card. As a Lawful Permanent Resident, a religious worker may live in the U.S. indefinitely and work for any employer. His spouse and minor children may qualify as his dependents and also obtain green cards.


A region or church files a petition for the religious worker. In certain cases, the religious worker may instead file the petition for himself. If the petition is approved, the religious worker may then apply for Lawful Permanent Residence. If the religious worker is abroad, he applies at the U.S. consulate. If he is already lawfully in the U.S., he applies through a process called adjustment of status.


To be eligible for the Special Immigrant Religious Worker category, a religious worker must:

  • have been a member of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) or its affiliates abroad for at least the past 2 years,

  • have been working full time doing compensated “religious work” for at least the past 2 years,

  • have a job offer in the U.S. to do compensated religious work for at least 35 hours per week,

  • have the support of the regional office and the church, and

  • be “admissible” to the U.S. (This depends on the individual’s immigration and criminal history, if any.)

  • meet other requirements

WARNING:

Petitioning for any type of immigration benefit, especially for religious workers, is a complicated and time-intensive process. In recent years, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security has been especially hesitant to grant these types of visas. All cases are now subject to rigorous scrutiny, including a site visit from the Fraud Detection and National Security Unit, which may take place at any time during the lifespan of a case. Contact Disciples Immigration Legal Counsel for a consultation to determine if you are eligible and to prepare for this process.

Request a Consultation

kindly allow one business day for response

Note that Disciples Immigration Legal Counsel is only one attorney, so your patience and understanding are appreciated.  This link is for a confidential questionnaire that will be used to find the best time and manner with which to speak with you.  Please allow at least one business day for response.  All information shared in the consultation is, and will remain, confidential.  Finally, thank you for sharing your Disciples affiliation to qualify for this service.

Resources for Pastors

RIM.jpg

Disciples Refugee & Immigration Ministries

Besides powerful advocacy initiatives, Disciples Refugee & Immigration Ministries also provides migrant focused worship and biblical materials.  Also, there is an incredible collection of the former Immigrant Led Weekly Online Bible Studies, organized and led by former Disciples Immigration Response Specialist Valeria Bejar in 2020.

IIC.jpg

Interfaith Immigration Coalition

The Interfaith Immigration Coalition (IIC) is a partnership of faith-based organizations committed to enacting fair and humane immigration reform that reflects our mandate to welcome the stranger and treat all human beings with dignity and respect. Coalition members work together to advocate for just and equitable immigration policies, educate faith communities, and serve immigrant populations around the country.

chalice informal.jpg

Disciples Partners

​We are grateful to the many partners who support our work, including:

labyrinth.jpg

Well-Fed Spirit

The Well-Fed Spirit includes spiritual formation & wellness resources for clergy and lay-persons from the Christian tradition and our wider spiritual communities.  It is affiliated with the Office of Christian Vocations of the Christian Church (Disciples Of Christ), a ministry within Disciples Home Missions.

For mental health resources specific for the migrant experience: