Observing%20light%20beaming%20on%20the%20path%20of%20cobblestone%20in%20Rome._edited.jpg

我們的故事

無償移民法律服務十年

門徒移民法律顧問致力於為全美國的門徒移民,會眾和社區提供可靠和負責任的法律諮詢,服務和信息。我們通過勤奮而熱心的門徒牧師和神學院代表充分地做到這一點,僅向全體成員提供諮詢和推薦意見,並及時提供法律更新和自助法律材料。

2017年7月,總理事會通過了大會第1723號決議, “關於成為移民歡迎會眾”。具體來說,此調用最終達到了解決方案:

進一步解決,美國和加拿大的基督教會(基督的門徒)教會尋求:

  1. 在移民和非移民會眾之間建立團結;

  2. 考慮成為或協助向移民提供庇護所保護的會眾;

  3. 為因拘留或驅逐出境而面臨失散的家庭建立社區保護和應對模式;

  4. 教育自己和他人有關支持移民家庭權利的移民政策;

  5. 為目前的兒童到達延期行動(DACA)接收者,邊境社區以及仇恨犯罪,欺詐活動和性販運的受害者提供支持;和

最後,請解決,基督教會的會眾,各部,組織和機構(基督的門徒)將繼續努力尊重和確認每個上帝孩子的尊嚴,並倡導公平和公正地對待移民和美國和加拿大的移民家庭。

自2011年以來,基督教教會(基督的門徒)將這句話付諸實踐,並派出了雙語移民律師,為門徒的牧師,神學院成員,教會和廣大會員提供無償法律服務。從2011年至2020年,塔娜·劉易斯(Tana Liu-Beers)擔任第一任職員律師,並真正創立和發展了該部。在2020年Covid-19全球大流行的第一周,娜塔莉·蒂格(Natalie Teague)感激地接受了這一呼籲,並延續了塔娜(Tana)勤奮和奉獻的精神。娜塔莉(Natalie)繼續愉快地擔任移民法律顧問:與來自北卡羅來納州中部的整個美國以及全球的客戶進行遠程合作。


信徒移民法律顧問在信徒家庭任務中遠程部署。我們的工作是可以通過幾個部委,種族/民族部委,地區以及您的“同情週”提供的資金來完成的。我們感謝任何和所有的禮物,使我們能夠繼續為美國乃至整個美國的門徒提供特殊的公益法律服務。先感謝您!

Headshot plants.jpg

我們是誰

娜塔莉·蒂格(Natalie Teague)。 Esq。

娜塔莉(Natalie)在北卡羅來納州中部一個獲得認證的有機奶牛場長大後-學會了在9歲時彈奏布魯斯音階,之後在紐約市學習爵士鋼琴,直到從布魯克林見證9/11的職業興趣轉向公共服務。 Natalie在整個危地馬拉度過了一個暑假志願活動和背包旅行,學習西班牙語,然後最終在北卡羅來納大學教堂山分校獲得拉丁美洲研究學士學位。在UNC期間,她被授予伯奇獎學金(Burch Fellowship),與尼加拉瓜馬那瓜附近的一家工人擁有的女性縫紉合作社合作。娜塔莉還在國際培訓學院研究了墨西哥瓦哈卡州和恰帕斯州的社會變革舉措。總而言之,娜塔莉(Natalie)在墨西哥,危地馬拉,伯利茲,尼加拉瓜和哥斯達黎加廣泛旅行,研究和提供志願服務,並且精通西班牙語。

納塔莉(Natalie)曾擔任雙語醫療保健工作者和社區大學掃盲中心協調員,然後加入埃隆大學法學院的憲章課程,獲得了法學博士學位,專攻公共利益法。在整個法學院,她擔任人道主義法問題的研究和教學助理,在一個難民安置機構實習,並在哥斯達黎加和平大學完成了人權課程。畢業後,娜塔莉(Natalie)獲得了Elon Law頒發的NC State Bar Pro Bono Award,在法律專業學習期間記錄了超過675小時的無償服務。

作為任務驅動型律師,娜塔莉(Natalie)的職業生涯圍繞倡導移民和婦女而展開。娜塔莉以前曾在一個基於信仰的非營利組織中從事移民法的工作,並曾在北卡羅來納州西部山區的私人實踐中擔任過獨身從業者。由於她一直致力於擔任移民律師,因此娜塔莉(Natalie)被美國移民律師協會(International Immigration Lawyers Association)認可為邁克爾·馬焦(Michael Maggio)紀念無償律師。她還獲得UNC Chapel Hill頒發的Elon Law校友社區獎和Leary Davis社區服務和領導獎,並獲得了Carolina Latino / a Initiative的Latino / a校友獎。此外,她還曾在聯邦公設辯護律師事務所的刑事司法系統的兩面工作,還擔任過涉及家庭暴力和性暴力,纏擾行為和人口販運案件的州檢察官。娜塔莉(Natalie)曾教過本科課程,並將與所有願意聽的人交談,內容涉及移民政策,家庭暴力的動態以及受創傷的宣傳。

為了平衡工作和生活,娜塔莉在瑜伽,冥想和正念練習中找到了安慰和彈性,她也教過。在業餘時間裡,她走在樹林裡,不顧一切地做飯,然後回到彈鋼琴。娜塔莉(Natalie)已返回“家”,現在與丈夫和救援邊境牧羊犬住在北卡羅來納州中部。娜塔莉(Natalie)是北卡羅來納州的持牌律師,她的執業限於美國移民和國籍法。

IMG-5350.jpg

卡利

卡利(Kali)是中年邊境牧羊犬的混血兒,幾年前,她因患病並在南卡羅來納州的一個小城鎮的街道上徘徊而從卡羅來納州邊境牧羊犬營救中獲救。 Kali擅長在客戶會議和工作會議中進行抓取和“縮放樹皮轟炸”工作,她的典型代表是相當強迫症,因此她協助進行自我護理(例如日常散步)和質量控制“水平管理”。從娜塔莉桌子旁邊的床上。

我們所做的

我們的工作包括三個關鍵部分:

門徒牧師,研討班和會眾的完整法律代表

首先,移民法律顧問為全美國的門徒牧師和神學院教員提供全面代理。這意味著我們向移民局和其他移民機構提供諮詢,準備和提交請願書和申請。大部分工作僅基於就業,但在能力允許的情況下,可能會視具體情況包括基於家庭,公民身份和人道主義的案例。案件從諮詢任命開始,以確定問題,檢查是否存在利益衝突並評估是否有能力提供幫助。案件受理後,我們倆都簽署了代理協議,則無需支付任何法律費用。 (由會眾和/或客戶仍然負責支付政府申請費。)我們一起走過美國移民系統的一片漆黑的森林,直到得出結論。

Image by Wesley Tingey

通過電話或視頻會議進行的僅限諮詢的有限法律諮詢

其次,移民法律顧問為門徒教會的成員提供免費(僅免費),僅提供諮詢的諮詢。 (不幸的是,由於我僅在北卡羅萊納州獲得執照,因此我目前只能提供基於美國的移民法律服務,而我的執業限於美國境內的移民和國籍法。)安排諮詢預約的最佳方法是:提交聯繫表格發送電子郵件,以便我們可以直接通過保密的在線調查問卷的鏈接進行回复。我們將尋找一個好時機,我們可以坐在一起,有足夠的時間詳細討論您的問題,而不會受到干擾。諮詢可能包括發現潛在移民方案的問題,回答一些簡短問題或提供信息和/或推薦給合格且負責任的當地律師。

unsplash-dKBTFoarrOU_edited.jpg

法律更新和專業(自助)材料

最後,移民法律顧問提供法律更新和自救(親SE)的美國移民系統的材料。這些資源通常可以在網站的“法律更新”部分(如博客)和社交媒體平台上獲得。有時也可以進行網絡研討會和/或視頻,因此也請查看參考資料部分。請注意,美國移民制度及其政策在不斷變化,因此,除非另有說明,否則所有材料的日期和效力僅自其發布之日起生效。

Image by Chris Montgomery
Image by Clay Banks

我們的工作方式

移民法律顧問職位是兼職職位,這意味著我經常制定不定期的時間表和工作時間,以適應不同時區的客戶。如果您打電話,發短信或發送消息,請知道我會盡快與您聯繫(通常在一個工作日內)。

法律專業是自治的專業,所有律師均受其所在州的道德規範的約束。我是北卡羅萊納州的執業律師,這意味著我受《北卡羅萊納州專業行為規則》的約束。我的工作中遇到的任何問題都必須符合這些規則,這可能導致冗長的免責聲明和其他限制,這些非律師可能不會考慮。我非常重視這些規則以及我在這些規則下的責任,因此,感謝您對這些限制的產生方式和時間的理解。


例如,從道德上講,我不能建議潛在客戶當前是否由另一位移民律師代理。 (有時也有例外,例如當一個人尋求第二種意見並在任何詢問中明確表達該意見時。)


此外,我無法就任何屬於移民法範圍之內且通常受州法律或我執業範圍之內的法律事務提供建議或代表。例如,我無法在稅收問題,勞動法,家庭法等方面提供建議。移民是所有聯邦法律的依據,這是一個例外,即律師必須在其執業所在的每個州均獲得許可。


最後,盡我所能,我有能力協助移民法院的案件,這種代表是不切實際的,因為這些案件通常會根據當地慣例行事,“認識法官”成為當務之急,而不是奢望。話雖如此,我將盡最大努力通過初步諮詢來協助拘留和擔保問題,但最終這些案件必須轉交給當地律師。這項轉介非常重要,因為適用的判例法在11個不同的聯邦巡迴上訴法院之間因居住地而異。 (我在北卡羅來納州獲得執照,僅獲第四巡迴上訴法院接納。)

Image by Andrew Stutesman

我們在哪里工作

儘管“門徒家庭傳教士”總部設在印第安納州印第安納波利斯,但我還是從北卡羅來納州格林斯伯勒附近的一個小鎮吉布森維爾(Gibsonville)派遣工作人員和工作。我的時間通常遵循美國東部時區,但是我通常會按照不同的時間表和時間工作,以適應其他時區的客戶。

與客戶會面時,可以選擇通過電話或加密的視頻會議進行會面。如果我們在網上見面,請確保您擁有強大而穩定的互聯網以及一個私人聚會的場所,而其他人聽不到我們的對話。我建議使用耳機以增加隱私並避免在不知不覺中放棄機密性或律師-客戶特權。

如果您即將在門徒社區舉辦活動,並且想讓我發言或參加,請與我聯繫。儘管由於COVID-19大流行的原因我們目前不旅行,但我期待著何時能有此選擇,同時也希望能有愉快的視頻會議。

Image by Tyler Nix

我們為什麼要做工作

2017年,大會通過了關於“成為移民歡迎會眾”的決議。此外,這項工作背後還有許多基於信仰的原因。


基督教教會(基督的門徒)要成為反種族主義,贊成和解的教會的四個優先事項之一,直接移民服務有助於在現有的和新的門徒教會和社區中實現更大的多樣性。由於種族長期以來一直在美國移民政策中發揮歷史性作用,因此該部還允許教會學習,反思和思考種族與移民如何在美國,社區和會眾中相交和互動。


最終,移民法律顧問將人們聚集在一起!這可能是為了促進呼籲牧師,團結(或團聚)家庭,建立新公民或尋求人道主義救濟。無論如何,我們的工作旨在將對移民系統的恐懼,焦慮和沮喪轉變為可以團結在一起的人們的歡樂,聯繫和社區,無論他們處於何種移民地位。

有興趣了解更多嗎?

Observing%20light%20beaming%20on%20the%20path%20of%20cobblestone%20in%20Rome._edited.jpg

Our Story

A decade of pro bono immigration legal services

Disciples Immigration Legal Counsel strives to provide reliable and responsible legal advice, services, and information to Disciples immigrants, congregations, and communities throughout the United States.  We do this through diligent and zealous full representation of Disciples pastors and seminarians, advice only consultations and referrals to all members, and timely legal updates and self-help legal materials.

In July 2017, the General Board passed General Assembly Resolution 1723, “On Becoming Immigrant Welcoming Congregations.”  Specifically, the resolution culminated in this call:

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that churches of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in the United States and Canada seek to:

  1. build solidarity between immigrant and non-immigrant congregations;

  2. consider becoming or assisting congregations offering sanctuary protections to immigrants;

  3. develop community protection and response models for families facing separation due to detention or deportation;

  4. educate themselves and others about those immigration policies that support the rights of immigrant families;

  5. offer support for current Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) recipients, border communities, and victims of hate crimes, fraudulent activity, and sex trafficking; and

FINALLY, BE IT RESOLVED that congregations, ministries, organizations, and institutions of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) will continue to strive to respect and affirm the dignity of every child of God and to advocate for the fair and just treatment of immigrants and immigrant families in the United States and Canada.

Since 2011, the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) has put these words into action by hosting a Bilingual Immigration Attorney to provide pro bono legal services to Disciples pastors, seminarians, congregations, and members at large.  From 2011-2020, Tana Liu-Beers served as the first staff attorney and truly created and developed this ministry.  In the first week of the Covid-19 global pandemic in 2020, Natalie Teague gratefully accepted the call and continues Tana’s legacy of diligence and dedication.  Natalie continues joyfully as Immigration Legal Counsel: working remotely with clients throughout the United States and all over the world from Central North Carolina.


Disciples Immigration Legal Counsel is deployed remotely within Disciples Home Missions.  Our work is possible through the funding by several General Ministries, Racial/Ethnic Ministries, Regions, and your Week of Compassion offerings.  We are grateful for any and all gifts to enable us to continue to provide exceptional pro bono legal services to Disciples throughout the United States and beyond.  Thank you in advance!

Headshot plants.jpg

Who We Are

Natalie Teague. Esq.

After growing up on a certified organic dairy farm in Central North Carolina – and learning to play her blues scales by age 9, Natalie studied jazz piano in New York City until her career interests shifted to public service after witnessing 9/11 from Brooklyn. Natalie spent a summer volunteering and backpacking throughout Guatemala to learn Spanish before eventually completing a B.A. in Latin American Studies at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  While at UNC, she was awarded a Burch Fellowship to collaborate with a worker-owned, women’s sewing cooperative near Managua, Nicaragua. Natalie also studied social change initiatives in Oaxaca and Chiapas, Mexico with the School for International Training.  All in all, Natalie has traveled, studied, and volunteered extensively in Mexico, Guatemala, Belize, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica and is fluent in Spanish.

Natalie worked as a bilingual health care worker and a community college literacy center coordinator before joining the Charter Class of Elon University School of Law to earn her J.D. with a concentration in Public Interest Law. Throughout law school, she worked as a research and teaching assistant on humanitarian law issues, interned at a refugee resettlement agency, and completed human rights coursework at the University for Peace in Costa Rica. Upon graduation, Natalie received the N.C. State Bar Pro Bono Award for Elon Law, logging over 675 hours of pro bono service while a law student.

As a mission driven attorney, Natalie’s career has revolved around advocating for immigrants and women. Natalie previously practiced immigration law in a faith-based nonprofit and as a solo practitioner in private practice in the mountains of Western North Carolina. Due to her continued commitment to service as an immigration attorney, Natalie has been recognized as a Michael Maggio Memorial Pro Bono Co-Honoree by the American Immigration Lawyers Association. She has also been awarded the Leary Davis Service and Leadership in the Community Award for Elon Law Alumni and the Latino/a Alumni Award from the Carolina Latino/a Initiative at UNC Chapel Hill. Additionally, she has worked on both sides of the criminal justice system in a federal public defender office and as a state prosecutor of cases involving domestic and sexual violence, stalking, and human trafficking. Natalie has taught undergraduate courses – and will speak to anyone who will listen – about immigration policy, the dynamics of domestic violence, and trauma-informed advocacy.

To balance work and life, Natalie finds solace and resilience in yoga, meditation, and mindfulness practices, which she also teaches.  In her spare time, she walks in the woods, cooks with reckless abandon, and is returning to playing the piano.  Natalie has returned “home” and now lives in Central North Carolina with her husband and rescue border collie. Natalie is a licensed attorney in the State of North Carolina, and her practice is limited to U.S. immigration and nationality law.

IMG-5350.jpg

Kali

Kali is a middle-aged Border Collie mix who was rescued from Carolina Border Collie Rescue years ago after she was found sick and wandering the streets of a small South Carolina town.  Kali specializes in fetch as well as "Zoom bark-bombing” in client and work conferences.  Typical of her breed, she is quite OCD, so she assists with self-care regimens (i.e. daily walks) and with quality control “horizontal management” from her bed beside Natalie’s desk.

What We Do

There are three key parts to our work:

Full Legal Representation of Disciples Pastors, Seminarians, & Congregations

First, Immigration Legal Counsel provides full representation for Disciples pastors and seminarians throughout the United State.  This means that we advise, prepare for, and file petitions and applications with USCIS and other immigration agencies.  Most of this work is employment based only, but it may include family based, citizenship, and humanitarian cases on a case-by-case basis and as capacity allows.  Cases begin with a consultation appointment to determine the issues, check for any conflicts of interest, and to assess whether there is capacity to assist.  After a case is accepted, when we have both signed a representation agreement, there are no legal fees.  (A congregation and/or client are still responsible for paying government filing fees.)  We walk together, through the dark and deep forest of the U.S. immigration system, until we reach a conclusion.

Image by Wesley Tingey

Limited Advice-only Legal Consultations by Phone or Video Conference

Second, Immigration Legal Counsel provides pro bono (free), advice-only consultations for members of Disciples congregations.  (Unfortunately, I am currently only able to provide U.S. based immigration legal services because I am only licensed in North Carolina, and my practice is limited to immigration and nationality law within the United States.)  The best way to schedule a consultation appointment is to submit the contact form or to send an email so that we can respond directly with a link to a confidential online questionnaire.  We will look for a good time when we can sit together and have plenty of time to discuss your matter in detail and without interruption.  A consultation could include issue spotting for potential immigration options, answering some brief questions, or providing information and/or a referral to qualified and responsible local counsel. 

unsplash-dKBTFoarrOU_edited.jpg

Legal Updates & Pro Se (Self-Help) Materials

Finally, Immigration Legal Counsel provides legal updates and self-help (pro se) materials on the U.S. immigration system.  These resources are generally available on the Legal Updates section of the website, which is like a blog, and on social media platforms.  Sometimes webinars and/or videos are also available, so please check the resources section as well.  Kindly note that the U.S. immigration system and its policies change constantly, so all materials are dated and effective only as of their publication date unless otherwise notated.

Image by Chris Montgomery
Image by Clay Banks

How We Work

The Immigration Legal Counsel position is a part-time position, meaning that I often work irregular schedules and hours to accommodate clients across different time zones.  If you call, text, or send a message, please know that I will be back in touch just as soon as possible (usually within one business day).

The legal profession is a self-governing profession, and all attorneys are bound by the ethics rules for each state in which they are licensed.  I am a North Carolina licensed attorney, which means that I am bound by the North Carolina Rules of Professional Conduct.  Any issue that comes up with my work must comport with these rules, which may lead to lengthy disclaimers and other limitations that a non-attorney might not consider.  I take these rules, and my responsibilities under them, very seriously, so I appreciate your understanding of how and when these limitations may arise.


For example, ethically I cannot advise a potential client if they are currently represented by another immigration attorney. (Sometimes there are exceptions, such as when one is seeking a second opinion and expresses that explicitly in any inquiry.)


Additionally, I cannot advise or represent anyone on legal matters that fall outside of immigration law and which are generally governed by state law or outside of my practice area.  For example, I am unable to give advice on tax issues, employment law, family law, etc.  Immigration is all federal law based, which is an exception to the rule that an attorney must be licensed in each state in which they practice.


Finally, as much as I wish I had the capacity to assist with immigration court cases, such representation would be impractical as these cases often move in accordance with local practice and “knowing one’s judge” becomes an imperative, not a luxury.  With this said, I do my best to assist with detention and bond issues, as practical through an initial consultation, but ultimately these cases must be referred to a local attorney.  This referral is important as the applicable case law differs between the eleven different federal circuit courts of appeals depending on where one lives.  (Being licensed in North Carolina, I am only admitted to the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals.)

Image by Andrew Stutesman

Where We Work

Though Disciples Home Missions is based in Indianapolis, Indiana, I am deployed staff and work from Gibsonville, a small town near Greensboro, North Carolina.  My hours generally follow the Eastern Time zone, but I routinely work odd schedules and hours to accommodate clients in other time zones.

 In meeting with clients, there are options to meet by phone or encrypted video conference.  If we meet online, please be sure that you have strong and steady internet as well as a private place to meet without others hearing our conversation.  I recommend using headphones to increase privacy and to avoid unknowingly waiving confidentiality or attorney-client privilege.

If you have an upcoming event for the Disciples community and would like for me to speak or participate, please contact me.  Though we are not currently traveling due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, I look forward to when we will have this option down the road – and happily video conference in the meantime.

Image by Tyler Nix

Why We Do the Work

In 2017, the General Assembly passed a resolution on “Becoming Immigrant Welcoming Congregations.”  Additionally, there are many faith-based reasons behind this work.          


As one of the four priorities of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) is to become an anti-racist, pro-reconciliation church, direct immigration services help to achieve greater diversity in current and new Disciples churches and communities.  As race has long played a historical role in U.S. immigration policy, this ministry also allows the church to learn, reflect, and contemplate how race and immigration intersect and interact in the United States, communities, and congregations.


Ultimately, Immigration Legal Counsel brings people together!  It may be to facilitate the call for a pastor, to unite (or reunite) families, to create a new citizen, or to seek humanitarian relief.  Regardless of the case, our work aims to transform the fear, anxiety, and frustration with the immigration system into the joy, connection, and community of human beings who can be together -- no matter their immigration status.

Interested in learning more?